立即戒煙
影響、操控及欺騙

零售商不再能販售大多數的口味煙草產品

發佈於 Nov 16, 2022
Photo with no alt text

加州如何終結口味煙草的銷售?

2022年11月8日,加州選民對第31號提案投下「贊成票」,也代表支持參議院793號法案,阻止零售商販售大多數的口味煙草產品,包括薄荷醇香煙及電子煙。1  值得注意的是,該法案側重於販售口味煙草產品的零售商,並不會對購買、使用或擁有口味煙草產品的個人進行處罰或定罪。

零售商將不再被允許在加州販售以下煙草產品:2

  • 帶有口味的電子煙及電子蒸氣煙
  • 帶有口味的電子煙煙汁、煙彈及煙倉
  • 薄荷醇香煙
  • 帶有口味的雪茄煙(little cigars)或小雪茄(cigarillos)
  • 帶有口味的無煙煙草產品
  • 帶有口味的雪茄紙(blunt wraps)
  • 帶有口味的散葉自捲煙草
  • 帶有口味的捲煙紙
  • 煙草產品加味劑

新法令可阻止大煙草商利用口味煙草產品欺騙傷害孩童其他目標社區,並藉此從中獲利。

加州新的口味煙草法令其背後的歷史?

2020年8月28日,紐森州長及加州立法者通過參議院793號法案,終止全州大多數口味煙草產品的銷售。然而,大煙草商隨後卻推動要對新法進行公投,因此新法被暫停兩年,而需要選民前往投票站投票維護法律。2022年11月8日,選民對第31號提案說「贊成」,要求零售商停止在加州販售大多數的口味煙草。

大煙草商操控著每一項旨在保護大眾免受掠奪性策略影響的政策,以便他們能夠繼續銷售他們的致命產品。新法令正是對於大煙草商利用口味煙草吸引新用戶上癮,因而造成我們社區的死亡與疾病所做出的回應。

加州新的口味煙草法令如何解決青少年吸電子煙問題?

加州的口味煙草銷售禁令消除了大煙草商讓新生代對尼古丁上癮的主要方法。加州吸電子煙的孩童中使用口味電子煙的比例達到驚人的96%,這些孩童一旦上癮,將成為他們終生的掙扎對抗。3 4  孩童所喜愛的口味正可掩蓋這些產品的苦澀味道及高尼古丁含量。

許多最受歡迎的電子煙使用尼古丁鹽,可提供高度濃縮型態的尼古丁,以減少刺激感。5  尼古丁與海洛因一樣會令人上癮6,並會重組大腦迴路而使人產生渴望。7  吸電子煙是如此令人上癮,以至於年輕人開始對電子煙越吸越多,因此對大腦及身體造成嚴重損害。8  吸電子煙的青少年每天吸香煙的可能性,也會高出三倍。9

但尼古丁並非是唯一存在的危險。電子煙含有會對健康造成風險的有毒化學物質,而我們才正剛開始了解。吸電子煙的人具有較高風險罹患慢性疾病,如癌症、哮喘、慢性阻塞性肺病、肺氣腫及支氣管炎,可導致呼吸困難,這正與吸香煙的人類似。10 11

加州的青少年應該在沒有大煙草毒害他們頭腦及身體的環境中成長。有關青少年吸電子煙大流行的更多信息,請瀏覽www.FlavorsHookKids.org/Chinese

如果家中的青少年沈迷於電子煙,請下載包含各種資源的家長指南以獲得協助。

加州的口味煙草法如何保護黑人社區?

新法糾正了2009年聯邦法中的錯誤以保護加州黑人,當時雖然禁止所有口味香煙,但薄荷醇香煙卻被排除在外。12  由於大煙草商積極遊說,而讓他們致命的薄荷醇香煙繼續留在市場上。據估計,如果2009年的禁令中包含薄荷醇香煙,至2050年將可避免超過237,000名黑人死亡。13

數十年來,大煙草商不斷致力於保持薄荷醇香煙的價格低廉,讓黑人社區易於獲得。煙草商的文件揭露他們積極針對非裔美國人/黑人社區,在以非裔美國人/黑人為主的社區投放更多煙草廣告。14

更令人擔憂的是,研究發現黑人社區的香煙更為便宜,尤其是薄荷醇香煙。15  煙草商甚至在非裔美國人/黑人社區分發免費香煙。16

煙草商積極的目標定位果然奏效:在加州,有47.7%的非裔美國人/黑人成年人使用薄荷醇香煙,而白人成年人的這一比例僅為16.5%。17

請瀏覽WeAreNotProfit.org (英文網站)了解更多信息。

加州新的口味煙草法是否將使用煙草的人定為犯罪?

不,新法不會對購買或使用口味煙草產品的個人進行處罰或定罪。18  該法令側重於零售商,禁止他們販售大多數的口味煙草產品,包括薄荷醇香煙及電子煙。

多年來,許多立法者通過的政策側重於懲罰吸煙者,尤其是孩童,他們認為這會起到威懾作用,19  但事實並非如此。事實上,這些法律帶來悲劇性及意想不到的後果,尤其對有色人種社區更是如此,20  這些法律一直以來無效又危險。新的口味煙草法在實施上將普通公民排除在外,因此避免對某些社區造成不成比例影響的過度監管及定罪的可能性。21 22

加州新的口味煙草法如何保護加州人的健康?

這項新法在維持肺部健康成為關鍵的當前尤為重要。吸煙及吸電子煙會襲擊肺部並減弱免疫系統功能。23  吸煙或吸電子煙的人,還會讓罹患感冒及流感等呼吸道疾病並發展成嚴重新冠症狀的風險增加。24 25 26 27 28  加州公共衛生部、醫生及衛生專業人員均建議戒煙,因為:

  • 大煙草商每天殺死110名加州人,每死亡一人,就代表有30多人患有煙草相關疾病,無論他們是否使用煙草都一樣。29 30
  • 在加州,二手煙每年可導致400多例的肺癌死亡3,600多例心臟病死亡31
  • 二手煙在加州每年導致大約31,000例兒童哮喘發作32
  • 使用煙草會導致各種類型的疾病,包括癌症、心臟病、中風、慢性阻塞性肺病(COPD)及其他疾病,並會降低整體生活質量33
  • 吸煙會使因罹患新冠而病情變嚴重的風險加倍34
  • 吸電子煙會傷害肺部並讓身體抵抗呼吸道感染的能力減弱35

煙草使用仍然是導致疾病、殘疾及死亡的最大可預防原因,但大煙草商的產品有一個可怕的共同點:它們導致所有這些危害。30 了解煙草產品所導致的死亡與疾病的真相,煙草商對此負有責任。

安全的煙草產品是否存在?

並不存在。所有煙草產品都是有害的。

雖然許多吸煙的人嘗試使用電子煙,因為他們認為電子煙能幫助他們戒煙,但研究顯示,它們無法幫助人戒煙。36  相反地,吸煙的人最終可能會同時使用電子煙及香煙兩種產品,這會增加他們罹患慢性病的風險。

事實上,生產電子煙或其它加熱煙草產品的煙草商,都並未向FDA申請授權將這些產品作為戒煙設備或尼古丁替代療法(NRT)進行營銷。

其實另有在科學基礎上經過證實有效的策略可用來戒斷吸煙、電子煙及無煙煙草。37  你可以邁出戒煙的第一步,歡迎立即查閱《ASQ華語戒煙專線》所提供的免費資源。

加州新的口味煙草法與FDA對電子煙及香煙的監管有何不同?

FDA(美國食品藥物管理局)對口味煙草產品的規定,是一系列複雜的政策所拼湊而成,存在危險的漏洞。

2009年,FDA禁止了口味香煙,但薄荷醇香煙除外,這是由於大煙草商的積極遊說而得以將其留在市場上。2021年4月,FDA宣布了禁止薄荷醇香煙的計劃。他們還表示這些計劃禁止所有帶有口味的雪茄及小雪茄,其中也包括薄荷醇雪茄及小雪茄。38  然而,FDA究竟何時會採取行動尚且未知,而大煙草商對法律提出的挑戰可能會讓政策的實施推遲數年。而且,電子煙也不包括在內,因此許多薄荷醇口味的電子煙仍在繼續銷售。

2020年1月,FDA禁止可卡入電子煙具的預先填充式口味電子煙煙彈,例如Juul的電子煙煙彈。但由於受到來自煙草商的壓力,FDA的政策卻繼續允許銷售所有可重複填充的口味電子煙,以及所有一次性使用的口味電子煙,這正造成了危險的漏洞,讓孩子們能繼續獲得包括薄荷醇口味在內的數千種口味的電子煙。

加州的口味煙草法不適用於下列煙草產品:

  • 只接受滿21歲或以上人士的商店所販售的口味水煙/水煙煙草
  • 12美元以上帶有口味的高級雪茄
  • 帶有口味的煙斗散葉煙草

加州新的口味煙草法允許地方司法管轄區繼續通過更具限制性的法律,禁止販售未包括在州法律中的所有口味煙草產品。

相比之下,加州的口味煙草法比聯邦法律要更加全面得多。它終結了幾乎所有口味煙草產品的銷售,包括所有的口味電子煙及薄荷醇香煙。

今天立即開始你的戒煙之旅

戒煙是一段漫長的旅程,在能成功永久戒煙之前,可能需要經歷多次嘗試。39 《ASQ華語戒煙熱線》可提供個人化的戒煙計劃,專為個人在開始或繼續戒煙之旅時所面對的不同狀況及挑戰而設計。

獲得免費戒煙協助:

  • 請致電800-838-8917
  • 傳中文簡訊「戒煙」二字至號碼66819
  • 瀏覽ASQ-Chinese.org
  1. SB-793 Flavored tobacco products. legislature.ca.gov. https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB793#:~:text=SB%20793%2C%20as%20amended%2C%20Hill,under%2021%20years%20of%20age. Accessed October 12, 2022.
  2. SB-793 Flavored tobacco products. legislature.ca.gov. https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB793#:~:text=SB%20793%2C%20as%20amended%2C%20Hill,under%2021%20years%20of%20age. Accessed August 28, 2020.
  3. Zhu S-H, Braden K, Zhuang Y-L, Gamst A, Cole AG, Wolfson T, Li S. (2021). Results of the Statewide 2019-20 California Student Tobacco Survey. San Diego, California: Center for Research and Intervention in Tobacco Control (CRITC), University of California San Diego
  4. U.S. Surgeon General. Surgeon General’s Advisory on E-cigarette Use Among Youth. ecigarettes.surgeongeneral.gov. https://e-cigarettes.surgeongeneral.gov/documents/surgeon-generals-advisory-on-e-cigarette-use-among-youth-2018.pdf Accessed September 12, 2022.
  5. Taylor, A, Dunn, K, Turfus, S. A review of nicotine-containing electronic cigarettes—Trends in use, effects, contents, labelling accuracy and detection methods. Drug Test Anal. 2021; 13: 242– 260. (2)doi.org/10.1002/dta.2998
  6. UCSF Health. Nicotine Dependence. https://www.ucsfhealth.org/conditions/nicotine-dependence Accessed October 25, 2022.
  7. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Health Consequences of Smoking: Nicotine Addiction. A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, GA: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control, Center for Health Promotion and Education, Office on Smoking and Health, 1988.
  8. U.S. Surgeon General. Surgeon General’s Advisory on E-cigarette Use Among Youth. https://e-cigarettes.surgeongeneral.gov/documents/surgeon-generals-advisory-on-e-cigarette-use-among-youth-2018.pdf. Accessed September 12, 2022.
  9. Pierce JP, Chen R, Leas EC, et al. Use of E-cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products and Progression to Daily Cigarette Smoking. Pediatrics. 2021;147(2):e2020025122. doi:10.1542/peds.2020-025122.
  10. Chidharla A, Agarwal K, Abdelwahed S, et al. Cancer Prevalence in E-Cigarette Users: A Retrospective Cross-Sectional NHANES Study. World J Oncol. 2022;13(1):20-26. doi:10.14740/wjon1438
  11. M.F. Perez, N. Atuegwu, E. Mead, C. Oncken, and E.M. Mortensen D22. Cutting Edge Research in Smoking Cessation and E-cigarettes. May 1, 2018, A6245-A6245
  12. Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act, 21 USC §301 (2009)
  13. Levy DT, Pearson JL, Villanti AC, Blackman K, Vallone D, Abrams D. Modeling the future effects of a menthol ban on reduced smoking prevalence and deaths averted in the United States. Am J Public Health. 2011;101(7):1236-1240. doi: 10.2105/AJPH.2011.300179
  14. Lee JG, Henriksen L, Rose SW, Moreland-Russell S, Ribisl KM. A Systematic Review of Neighborhood Disparities in Point-of-Sale Tobacco Marketing. Am J Public Health. 2015;105(9):e8-e18. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2015.302777
  15. Resnick EA, Jackson KL, Barker DC, and Chaloupka FJ. Cigarette Pricing Differs by U.S. Neighborhoods – A BTG Research Brief. Chicago, IL: Bridging the Gap Program, Health Policy Center, Institute for Health Research and Policy, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2012.
  16. Public Health Law Center. Evans v. Lorillard: A Bittersweet Victory Against the Tobacco Industry. https://publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/resources/tclc-Evans-v-Lorillard-case-study-2016.pdf. Accessed August 28, 2020.
  17. California Health Interview Survey. CHIS 2021 Adult Files. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
  18. SB-793 Flavored tobacco products. leginfo.legislature.ca.gov. https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB793. August 28, 2020.
  19. Changelab Solutions. PUP in Smoke. https://www.changelabsolutions.org/sites/default/files/2019-05/PUPinSmoke_FINAL_2019-04-17.pdf. Accessed October 7, 2022.
  20. American Lung Association, Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, American Cancer Society, et al. Achieving Health Equity in Tobacco Control. truthinitiative.org/sites/default/files/Achieving%20Health%20 Equity%20in%20Tabacco%20Control%20-%20Version%201.pdf. Published December 8, 2015. Accessed on March 5, 2019.
  21. Smith, EA., et al. “California Advocates’ Perspectives on Challenges and Risks of Advancing the Tobacco Endgame.” J Public Health Policy, vol. 41, no. 3, 2020, pp. 321–33, https://doi.org/10.1057/s41271-020-00230-5.
  22. Whitsel LP, Johnson JC. Addressing social and racial justice in public policy for healthy living. Prog Cardiovasc Dis. 2022 Mar-Apr;71:37-42. doi: 10.1016/j.pcad.2022.04.007. Epub 2022 Apr 28. https://www.urban.org/sites/default/files/publication/104687/racial-and-ethnic-disparities-throughout-the-criminal-legal-system.pdf
  23. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.The Health Consequences of Smoking—50 Years of Progress: A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 2014 [accessed 2022 Oct 27].
  24. Huttunen R, Heikkinen T, Syrjänen J. Smoking and the outcome of infection. J Intern Med. 2011;269(3):258–269. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2796.2010.02332.x
  25. Stämpfli MR, Anderson GP. How cigarette smoke skews immune responses to promote infection, lung disease and cancer. Nat Rev Immunol. 2009;9(5):377–384. doi:10.1038/nri2530
  26. Cleveland Clinic. Here’s the Damage Coronavirus (COVID-19) Can Do to Your Lungs. health.clevelandclinic.org. https://health.clevelandclinic.org/heres-the-damage-coronavirus-covid-19-can-do-to-your-lungs/. March 20, 2020. Accessed April 8, 2020.
  27. Volkow N. COVID-19: Potential Implications for Individuals with Substance Use Disorders. Nora’s Blog, NIDA. https://www.drugabuse.gov/about-nida/noras-blog/2020/04/covid-19-potential-implications-individuals-substance-use-disorders. Published April 6, 2020. Accessed January 11, 2022.
  28. Guan WJ, Ni ZY, Hu Y, et al. Clinical Characteristics of Coronavirus Disease 2019 in China. N Engl J Med. 2020.
  29. Tobacco Free Kids The Toll of Tobacco In California. https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/problem/toll-us/california. Accessed October 24, 2022.
  30. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Health Consequences of Smoking—50 Years of Progress: A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 2014 [accessed 2022 Oct 27].
  31. California Environmental Protection Agency. Proposed Identification of Environmental Tobacco Smoke as a Toxic Air Contaminant. Sacramento, CA: California Environmental Protection Agency, Air Resources Board, Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment. 2005.
  32. California Environmental Protection Agency. Proposed Identification of Environmental Tobacco Smoke as a Toxic Air Contaminant. Sacramento, CA: California Environmental Protection Agency, Air Resources Board, Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment. 2005.
  33. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Tobacco Use. https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/resources/publications/factsheets/tobacco.htm. Accessed October 24, 2022.
  34. California Department of Public Health. Protect yourself from COVID-19: Stop smoking and vaping now. Undo.org. Published April 11, 2022. Accessed October 12, 2022.
  35. Gotts JE, Jordt SE, McConnell R, Tarran R. What are the respiratory effects of e-cigarettes? BMJ. 2019;366:l5275. doi: https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.l5275
  36. Kalkhoran S, Glantz SA. E-cigarettes and smoking cessation in real-world and clinical settings: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Lancet Respir Med. 2016 Feb;4(2):116-28. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(15)00521-4. Epub 2016 Jan 14. PMID: 26776875
  37. U.S. Surgeon General. Surgeon General’s Report on Cessation. https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/2020-cessation-sgr-full-report.pdf.
  38. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Commits to Evidence-Based Actions Aimed at Saving Lives and Preventing Future Generations of Smokers. fda.gov. https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda commits-evidence-based-actions-aimed-saving-lives-and-preventing-future-generations-smokers. Published April 29, 2021. Accessed May 27, 2021.
  39. Chaiton M, Diemert L, Cohen JE, et al. Estimating the number of quit attempts it takes to quit smoking successfully in a longitudinal cohort of smokers. BMJ Open. 2016;6(6):e011045. Published 2016 Jun 9. doi:10.1136/bmjopen-2016-011045

按主題探索

煙草商目前耗資數十億美元在狡詐的營銷策略及政治影響力上,即使造成死亡與疾病也要獲利。
了解詳情
即使對於不使用煙草的人,也可能產生致命的後果。
了解詳情
煙草商稱孩子們為「替代客戶」, 而大煙草商更判處他們終生成癮與疾病。
了解詳情
具有種族主義的煙草商,策略性地以特定社區為目標,提供致命的產品及操控性的信息。
環境破壞
有毒煙草廢棄物及塑料污染所帶來的環境破壞與健康風險,無人能免受其害。
了解詳情
Photo with no alt text

追究煙草商責任

對於其他有害產品,加州已在保護大眾避免受到侵害,現在正是該以同樣標準對待煙草商的時候!

Quit now
Influence, Manipulation & Deceit

Retailers can no longer sell most flavored tobacco products

Published Nov 9, 2022
African American son placing I Voted Early Sticker on smiling black mother's face

How did California end the sale of flavored tobacco?

On November 8, 2022, California voters upheld Senate Bill (SB) 793 by voting “Yes” on Proposition (Prop) 31, which prevents retailers from selling most flavored tobacco products, including menthol cigarettes and vapes.1 Notably, the law is focused on retailers who sell flavored tobacco products and does not penalize or criminalize an individual for purchasing, using, or possessing a flavored tobacco product. The law is effective contingent upon certification of the vote. Please visit the Secretary of State’s website for more information.

Retailers will no longer be allowed to sell the following tobacco products in California:2

  • Flavored e-cigarettes and vapes
  • Flavored e-juice, pods, and cartridges
  • Menthol cigarettes
  • Flavored little cigars and cigarillos
  • Flavored smokeless tobacco products
  • Flavored blunt wraps
  • Flavored loose-leaf roll-your-own tobacco
  • Flavored tobacco rolling papers
  • Tobacco product flavor enhancers

The new law stops Big Tobacco from preying on and profiting off of kids and other targeted communities with their flavored tobacco products.

What’s the history behind California’s new flavored tobacco law?

On August 28, 2020, Governor Newsom signed SB 793 which ended the sale of most flavored tobacco products statewide. However, Big Tobacco then pushed for a referendum on the new law, putting the law on pause for two years and requiring voters to go to the polls and uphold the law. On November 8, 2022, voters said “Yes” to Prop 31, requiring retailers to stop selling most flavored tobacco in California.

Big Tobacco has manipulated every policy designed to protect people from their predatory tactics so they can keep selling their deadly products. The new law is a response to the death and disease Big Tobacco inflicts on our communities by hooking new users with flavored tobacco.

How does California’s new flavored tobacco law address youth vaping?

California’s flavored tobacco sales ban eliminates Big Tobacco’s main method of addicting a new generation to nicotine. A staggering 96 percent of California kids who vape use flavored vapes – and once they’re addicted it becomes a lifelong struggle.3 4 Kid-friendly flavors mask the harsh taste and high nicotine content of these products.

Many of the most popular vapes use nicotine salts which deliver a highly concentrated form of nicotine that causes less irritation.5 Nicotine is as addictive as heroin6 and rewires the brain to crave it.7 Vaping is so addictive that young people start vaping more and more – resulting in serious damage to the brain and body.8 Teens who vape are also three times more likely to become daily cigarette smokers.9

But nicotine isn’t the only danger. Vapes contain toxic chemicals with health risks we are only beginning to understand. Similar to people who smoke, people who vape are at a higher risk of chronic diseases such as cancer, asthma, COPD, emphysema, and bronchitis, making it difficult to breathe.10 11

California youth should grow up without Big Tobacco poisoning their minds and bodies. For more information on the teen vaping epidemic, visit www.FlavorsHookKids.org.

Download a Parent Guide with resources to help if your teen is addicted to vaping.

How does California’s flavored tobacco law protect the Black community?

The new law protects Black Californians by correcting the mistake made in a 2009 federal law that banned all flavored cigarettes except menthol cigarettes.12 Big Tobacco aggressively lobbied to keep their deadly menthol cigarettes on the market. It’s estimated that over 237,000 Black deaths would have been prevented by 2050 if menthol cigarettes had been included in the 2009 ban.13

For decades, Big Tobacco worked hard to keep menthol cigarettes cheap and accessible to Black communities. Tobacco industry documents reveal aggressive targeting of the African American/Black community, with more tobacco ads in predominantly African American/Black neighborhoods.14

Even more alarming, studies have found cigarettes are cheaper in Black neighborhoods, particularly menthol cigarettes.15 The tobacco industry has even gone so far as to hand out free packs of cigarettes in African American/Black neighborhoods.16

The tobacco industry’s aggressive targeting worked: In California, 47.7 percent of African American/Black adults who smoke cigarettes use menthol cigarettes, compared to only 16.5 percent of white adults.17

Learn more at WeAreNotProfit.org.

Does California’s new flavored tobacco law criminalize people who use tobacco?

No, the new law does not penalize or criminalize an individual for purchasing or using flavored tobacco products.18 The law focuses on retailers, prohibiting them from selling most flavored tobacco products, including menthol cigarettes and vapes.

For years, many lawmakers have passed policies that focused on penalizing people who use tobacco, particularly kids, believing it would be a deterrent.19 That has not been the case. In fact, those laws held tragic and unintended consequences, especially for communities of color.20 They have been ineffective and dangerous. Enforcement of the new flavored tobacco law leaves private citizens out of the equation, thereby avoiding potential for over-policing and criminalization that has disproportionately affected certain communities.21 22

How does California’s new flavored tobacco law protect the health of Californians?

The new law is especially vital now during a time when optimal lung health is key. Smoking and vaping attack the lungs and weaken the immune system.23 People who smoke or vape are at increased risk of respiratory illnesses like colds and flus and developing severe symptoms of COVID-19.24 25 26 27 28 The California Department of Public Health, doctors, and health professionals recommend quitting all tobacco use because:

  • Big Tobacco kills 110 Californians each day, and for every death there are 30 more people suffering from tobacco-related diseases – whether they use tobacco or not.2930
  • Every year in California, secondhand smoke causes more than 400 lung cancer deaths and more than 3,600 cardiac deaths.31
  • Secondhand smoke causes about 31,000 episodes of asthma attacks in children in California each year.32
  • Tobacco use can cause all types of illnesses including cancer, heart disease, stroke, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), and other diseases, as well as a decrease in overall quality of life.33
  • Smoking doubles the risk of getting sicker from COVID-19.34
  • Vaping harms the lungs and worsens the body’s ability to fight respiratory infections.35

Tobacco use remains the single largest preventable cause of disease, disability, and death, yet Big Tobacco’s products have one terrible thing in common: they cause them all.30 Learn the truth about the death and disease caused by tobacco products, for which the tobacco industry is responsible.

Do safe tobacco products exist?

No. All tobacco products are harmful.

While many people who smoke cigarettes try vapes because they think it will help them quit, studies show that they do not help people quit smoking cigarettes.36 Instead, people who smoke may end up using both products, which increases their risk for developing chronic diseases.

In fact, no tobacco companies that make e-cigarettes or other heated tobacco products have applied for FDA authorization to market these products as cessation devices or nicotine replacement therapy (NRT).

There are proven, science-based strategies to kick smoking, vaping, and smokeless tobacco.37 Take the first step toward quitting – and check out the free Kick It California program today.

How is California’s new flavored tobacco law different from the FDA’s regulation of vapes and cigarettes?

FDA regulations on flavored tobacco products are a complicated patchwork of policies that have dangerous loopholes.

In 2009, the FDA banned flavored cigarettes, except menthol cigarettes, because Big Tobacco aggressively lobbied to keep them on the market. In April 2021, the FDA announced plans to ban menthol cigarettes. They also stated plans to ban all flavored cigars and cigarillos, including menthol cigars and cigarillos.38 However, the timing for when the FDA will take action is unknown and legal challenges by Big Tobacco could delay policy implementation for years. E-cigarettes were also not included and many menthol-flavored vapes continue to be sold.

In January 2020, the FDA banned pre-filled flavored vape pods that snap into vapes, like Juul pods. Because of pressure from the tobacco industry, the FDA policy continued to allow all refillable flavored vapes and all disposable flavored vapes to be sold, creating a dangerous loophole that lets kids continue to get vapes in thousands of flavors, including menthol.

California’s flavored tobacco law does not apply to these tobacco products:

  • Flavored shisha/hookah tobacco sold in stores that only admit people 21 or older
  • Flavored premium cigars over $12
  • Flavored loose-leaf pipe tobacco

California’s new flavored tobacco law allows for local jurisdictions to continue to pass more restrictive laws that prohibit sales of all flavored tobacco products not included in the state law.

California’s flavored tobacco law, in contrast, is much more comprehensive than the federal law. It ends the sale of almost all flavored tobacco products, including all flavored vapes and menthol cigarettes.

Start your quitting journey today

Quitting tobacco is a long journey and can take several attempts before quitting for good.39 Kick It California has a personalized quit program designed for a person’s own circumstances and challenges as they begin or continue their journey to quit tobacco products.

For free quit help:

  • Call 800-300-8086.
  • Text “I Can Quit” to 66819 to quit vapes, or “Kick Tobacco” to 66819 to quit cigarettes.
  • Chat with a Quit Coach now to quit tobacco.
  • Visit KickItCA.org to get resources or download the mobile app.
References
  1. View Source
  2. View Source
  3. View Source
  4. View Source
  5. View Source
  6. View Source
  7. View Source
  8. View Source
  9. View Source
  10. View Source
  11. View Source
  12. View Source
  13. View Source
  14. View Source
  15. View Source
  16. View Source
  17. View Source
  18. View Source
lady in a garden wearing a head scarf

Hold the industry accountable

California has already protected people from other harmful products, and it's time to hold the tobacco industry to the same standards.